Brooklyn Farm Williams location 3177 ( 680 acres 275ha) is one of the early farms in the Lol Gray area, that were established at the turn of the 20th century by ‘enthusiastic pioneers who soon found it impossible to make a living on these very small holdings. These people were mainly English settlers who had been convinced by the government propaganda of the time, that they would be successful farmers’ (source Numbat Country - The story of Cuballing shire - from earliest times to 1997).
Lol Gray was an English immigrant in the 1800’s who was a shepherd and sandalwood cutter, and who dug the (now buried) Lol Gray soak on the Lol Gray Road/ Narrogin Wandering Road intersection. The flooded gum hollow here would have been a wonderful cool place for students of the Lol Gray School on the other side of the road.
Brooklyn Farm was originally owned by Clem Marwick of York, followed by a number of succeeding inhabitants. The building shown here was a brick and iron combined house, shearing shed, and machinery shed. Surrounded by bits of historic machinery, it was still being used to crutch sheep when a storm blew it down. Fascinating spot (private property not available to visitors).
For a visual exploration Crtl+click this link https://photos.app.goo.gl/7LmfwJh3EFGolVWc2